Greenbelt Protection Act (Bill 27)

The Greenbelt Protection Act imposes a one-year moratorium on urban development on rural and agricultural lands in the Regional Municipalities of Halton, Peel, York, and Durham, the Cities of Hamilton and Toronto, and the "tender fruit belt" of the Regional Municipality of Niagara and all lands within the jurisdiction of the Niagara Escarpment Plan and the Oak Ridges Moraine Area.

This means that, at least for the time being, all applications for development outside urban settlement areas will be put on hold. New development is permitted to occur only within areas designated for urban use. Furthermore, Bill 27 "stays" any proceedings already before the OMB that deal with an Official Plan, Official Plan Amendment (OPA), zoning, holding or interim control by-law, or plan of subdivision within the Greenbelt area. All such hearings have been adjourned and will remain in limbo during the moratorium, which is due to expire December 16, 2004.